1. Kansas Forest Service
  2. »About Us
  3. »Advisory Council

Kansas Forest Service

Kansas Forest Service
2610 Claflin Road
Manhattan, KS 66502

Subscribe to the Kansas Canopy Newsletter!

Kansas Forest Service Advisory Council

The purpose of the Advisory Council is to enhance communication to all sectors of Kansas regarding programs of the Kansas Forest Service and to advise on the public and private needs and requirements relating to Kansas Forest Service programs and program directions.

Specifically the Council:

  1. Reviews Kansas Forest Service programs and budgets and makes recommendations to the State Forester, the University, the Legislature and the Governor regarding the needs of the Kansas Forest Service and the adequacy of its programs and budgets.
  2. Serves as a sounding board for new programs and consult with and advises the State Forester about programs and priorities.
  3. Provides the Kansas Forest Service with expertise gained in the administration of other organizations relative to the administrative operations of the Kansas Forest Service.
  4. Assists in making services and capabilities of the Kansas Forest Service known throughout Kansas.
  5. Serves as a vehicle for recommending new legislation through appropriate state agencies relative to the mission of the Kansas Forest Service.
  6. Recommends policy to the State Forester and Kansas State University’s Department Head for Horticulture, Forestry, and Recreation Resources with respect to operational matters.

2022 Kansas Forestry Service Advisory Council Members

Community Forestry
Lynn MillerDirector of Parks and Recreation, Beloit, KS
Sarah CrowderSenior Program Manager, Bridging The Gap/Heartland Tree Alliance
Brad LovelessSecretary, KS Department Wildlife, Parks and Tourism, Topeka, KS
Dan Meyerhoff

Executive Director, Kansas Association of Conservation Districts

Natural Resource Group 
Jared McJunkin

Dir. Conservation Operations, Central, National Wild Turkey Federation

Annie Farrell  

District Biologist, National Wild Turkey Federation

Kent AskrenPublic Policy Director, Kansas Farm Bureau
Carolyn Turney (Chair)Landowner, Lyons County, Emporia, KS. Past Chair, KS Forestry Association
Calvin KissickForest Landowner, Sedgwick County KS
Senator Tom HawkKansas Senate, District 22; Home County - Riley
Rep. Stephen OwensKansas House, District 74, Hesston, KS
Rural Fire 
Shane Preston

Assistant Chief, Hays Fire Department, Hays, KS

Doug SchmittChief, Soldier Township Fire Department, Shawnee County
Brian ObermeyerLandscape Program Manager, The Nature Conservancy
Forest Industry
Alan EckleyVice President, American Walnut Company, St. Joseph, MO
Kent GlasscockPresident, KSU Institute for Commercialization